Council

Last Updated on

Information of interest to residents of Cobourg

Town Council

For the term Nov 2018 – Nov 2022

l-r: Nicole Beatty, Aaron Burchat, Deputy Mayor Suzanne Séguin, Mayor John Henderson, Emily Chorley, Brian Darling, Adam Bureau
l-r: Nicole Beatty, Aaron Burchat, Deputy Mayor Suzanne Séguin, Mayor John Henderson,
Emily Chorley, Brian Darling, Adam Bureau
Position Name Coordinator Position
Mayor John Henderson Economic Development
Deputy Mayor Suzanne Séguin General Government
Councillor Nicole Beatty Planning and Development Services
Councillor Brian Darling Public Works Services
Councillor Emily Chorley Parks and Recreation
Councillor Aaron Burchat Protection Services
Councillor Adam Bureau Arts, Culture and Tourism

Contact Information

Name E-Mail Phone
John Henderson jhenderson@cobourg.ca Office: 905 372-4301 Ext 4000
Cell: 289 251-4193
Suzanne Séguin sseguin@cobourg.ca Cell: 905 269-1560
Nicole Beatty nbeatty@cobourg.ca Cell: 905 269-5637
Brian Darling bdarling@cobourg.ca Cell: 289 251-2177
Emily Chorley echorley@cobourg.ca Cell: 905 207-4940
Aaron Burchat
aburchat@cobourg.ca Cell: 905-375-3535
Adam Bureau abureau@cobourg.ca Cell: 905 207-3370

Council Meetings are held on a 3 week cycle – Committee of the Whole and Regular Council meetings occurring on consecutive Mondays, however, leaving one week at the beginning of each cycle where Council and the public have time to review the agenda.  That is, there is a 2 week gap between each Regular Council meeting and the next Committee of the Whole meeting. A full schedule of dates & times of Council meetings is on the related News site here.  All meetings are at 6:00 pm.

Contact the Town

Location
Town of Cobourg Municipal Offices
Victoria Hall
55 King Street West, Cobourg, ON K9A 2M2
Hours of Operation: Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Contact

Main Phone: (905) 372-4301
Toll Free: 1-888-972-4301
Main Fax: (905) 372-7558

Customer Service: (905) 377-8696
Tourism/Community Development: 1-888-262-6874
Cobourg Community Centre: 1-888-972-7371
Concert Hall: 1-855-372-2210

Administrators

Chief Administrative Officer
Acting in this position is Ian Davey – see next item.

Director of Corporate Services
Ian Davey
905-372-4301 ext. 4201
email: idavey@cobourg.ca

Director of Planning and Development Services
Glenn J. McGlashon
905-372-1005 ext. 4450
email: gmcglashon@cobourg.ca

Director of Public Works
Laurie Wills
905-372-9971
email: lwills@cobourg.ca

Director of Community Services
Dean Hustwick
905-372-7371 ext. 8423
Email: dhustwick@cobourg.ca

Deputy Director of Community Services
Teresa Behan
905 372-8641
Email: tbehan@cobourg.ca

Police Chief
Paul VandeGraaf
Telephone: 905 372-6821
Email: paul.vandegraaf@cobourgpolice.com

Fire Chief
Mike Vilneff
Telephone: 905-372-9789
Email: mvilneff@cobourg.ca

Managers

Town Clerk and ByLaw Enforcement
Brent Larmer
Telephone: (905) 372-4301 ext 4207
Email: blarmer@cobourg.ca

Cobourg Parks
Jason Johns
Telephone: 905-372-8641
Email: jjohns@cobourg.ca

Communications Officer
Ashley Purdy
Telephone: 905-372-4301 Ext 4105
Email: apurdy@cobourg.ca

Cobourg Marina
Telephone (Marina Office): 905-372-2397
Telephone (Marina Manager): 905-372-7371

Facilities Manager (CCC)
Telephone: 905-372-7371
Email: TBD

Roads & Sewers
Ted Sokay
Telephone: 905-372-9971
Email: tsokay@cobourg.ca


See also this list of Advisory Committees and their members

Social Media Sites

Transit Schedule

Parking in Cobourg

Community Centre Schedule for Seniors

Events Calendars

Current Town Notices

Emergency Notification System

Cobourg has an emergency notification system to get the word out to citizens for such emergencies as derailments, water problems etc.

To sign up, you go to this link:
http://www.cobourg.ca/en/my-cobourg/Rapid-Notify.aspx

It will notify users by:

  • Telephone (Cell and Home)
  • Email
  • SMS text messaging

Town of Cobourg – Strategic Plan

Municipal Voting

Voting for council occurs every 4 years in October. The next vote will be in 2022.

Population

The population of Cobourg and other Municipalities in Northumberland as of 2016.

Brighton 11,844
Trent Hills 12,900
Cobourg 19,440
Cramahe 6,355
Port Hope 16,753
Hamilton 10,942
Alnwick/Haldimand 6,869
Total Northumberland 85,598

Northumberland County

A number of Municipal government functions are handled by the County.

These include:

  • Garbage management – including pickup of “wet” garbage, “dry” (recyclable) garbage and Yard Waste.  (More on Yard waste pickup here)
  • Social services – that is, welfare, subsidized housing, the Golden Plough Lodge
  • Ambulance Services
  • Planning for some municipalities
  • County Roads and Bridges
  • County Economic Development and Tourism
  • Archives

Advisory Committees

There are a good number of citizen committees set up to advise Council on a range of subjects.  For  a list of them plus a list of members, go here.

By-Law Guide

In 2018, the Town published a plain-language By-Law Guide.  It’s not available online on the Town’s web site but is available at this page.