Search this Site

Google Ad


The latest updates on Covid-19 in Cobourg can be found on this special page here.


These committees consist of Cobourg residents, or they are owner/tenants of land (or spouse of same) for the duration of their term.  Committees also include elected councilors.  Any questions or submissions should be made to Council and not to citizens on these committees.  If you are interested in participating, vacancies become available from time to time and are advertised in the newspaper and on the Town's web site.  Application forms are available at the town office at that time.

See the Town's page on committees for more info: Committees page

Note also:

  • A resident may make a delegation to these committees and is allowed 10 minutes
  • Residents (the public) may attend these committee meetings as observers and may raise a hand and, at the discretion of the chair, may make a comment. The main point is attending as an observer.

The names in the list below are taken from minutes of each committee.  The dates in brackets are the dates when the membership lists were valid. There is currently no official list showing membership.

2020 Advisory Committee Members (month confirmed shown) Links via Details are to Town's web site.

Note that some of these are governing boards and not really "advisory".

Community and Civic Awards Advisory Committee (Nov 2020)
Mayor John Henderson
Councillor Adam Bureau
Beth Selby
Debbie Verschuren
Duncan Walker
Jennifer Ashley
Lynn McMillian
Olinda Casimiro
Reva Nelson

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee (Mar 2021)

Newly formed and governed by By-Law 078-2020
Meeting days not set

Councillor Nicole Beatty
Councillor Adam Bureau
Councillor Emily Chorley
Beverly Shepherd
Kari Walton
Heidi Charisse
Ashley Bouman
Marilou Martin
Terry Dillon
Anna Albouni
Frances Northeast
Boutheina Maraoul
Shawn Levy

Downtown Business Improvement Area Board (March 2021)
Councillor Adam Bureau
Deputy Mayor Suzanne Seguin
Erika Cotton - Chair
Joan Greaves
Julie Powell
Amanda Da Silva
Lou Trozzolo
Jenna Fitzgerald
D. Vasey
Tracey Gainforth
Kevin Ward - ex-officio
Chief Paul VandeGraaf - ex-officio

Accessibility Advisory Committee (Feb 2021) - Details
Kathryn Richards, Vice Chair
Troy Mills
Susan Caron, Chair
Elizabeth (Beth) Sheffield
Jerry Ford
Aaron Burchat, Councillor
Dan Wilson

Police Services Board (July 2020) - Details
Dean Pepper (Municipal Representative) - Chair
Mayor John Henderson
Councillor Burchat
Dr. Ron Kerr - Vice-Chair
Sean Graham

Planning and Development Advisory Committee (Jan 2021) Details here
Rick Stinson - Chair
Alister Commins
George Kamphorst
Frieder Aldinger
Marc Vermeire
Don Wilcox - Vice Chair
Nicole Beatty, Councillor/Coordinator

Sustainability and Climate Change Advisory Committee (Jan 2021) Meets 1st Wednesday of Month at 2:00 pm - Details
Minnie de Jong - Chair
Anthony Pitts - Vice Chair
Marius Marsh
Gillian Berridge-Kassela
Warren McCarthy
John Vickers
Councillor Adam Bureau

Heritage Advisory Committee (Jan 2021)
Meets every 3 weeks - download 2020 schedule.  Mandate and details.
Graham Andrews, Chair
Kenneth Bagshaw, Vice-Chair
Felicity Pope
Catherine Richards
Loren Turner
Robyn Mumford
Nicole Beatty, Councillor

Public Library Board (Dec 2020) Details
Adam Bureau, Councillor Cobourg
Pat McCourt, Councillor Hamilton
Kevin Caldwell - Chair
Jennifer Gillard
Diana Cleland
Simon Chorley - Vice Chair
Joanne Hearst
Marian Neill
Ken Williamson

Transportation Advisory Committee (April 2020) - Details
Randy Curtis Chair
Bruce Bellaire Vice Chair
Harry Meester
Randall Ross
William Glover
Mark Mills
Councillor Brian Darling

Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee (Jan 2021).  Meets first Tuesday of every month from 1:00 pm – 2:30 Details here
Beth Bellaire, Chair
Dora Body
Richard Pope
Patricia Whitney, Vice Chair
James McGrath
Miriam Mutton
Councillor Emily Chorley

Committee of Adjustment & Property Standards Committee (Nov 2020)
Robert Marr - Chair
Barry Gutteridge - Vice Chair
Peter Delanty
Astrid Hudson
Allan Smelko  

Note that relevant Town staff also attend meetings but do not have a vote and are not listed here.

All meetings are open to the public although it's rare to see anyone other than committee members. Some meeting dates and times are listed above - for others ask a committee member.

Northumberland County

The County also has advisory committees but most of them are hidden from view. Here is a list with links to the only available additional information

Google Ad